Project roles

When participating in a project, it's helpful to understand the various project member roles.

  • Project Owner: When you create a project, you are the Project Owner. You can deactivate your project and move and delete project items. If you are using the free version of A360, you can't transfer project ownership. If you are using the paid version, A360 Team, your Team Administrator can reassign ownership of your project or deactivate it upon request. As the Project Owner, you are also considered a Project Moderator and a project member.
  • Project Moderator: As a Project Moderator, you can update the project's information on the Profile page, including assigning and changing the project logo. You can choose who can participate in the project. People invited to a project can usually access the project right away. In some cases, however, an invitation needs approval from a Project Moderator. If you are using the free version of A360, you can't nominate project members to become Project Moderators for your project. If you are using the paid version, A360 Team, you can nominate another Team Member to become a Project Moderator. Your Team Administrator can also reassign Project Moderators. As a Project Moderator, you are also considered a project member.
  • Project Contributor: A person invited to the project from outside your organization is considered a Project Contributor. Project Contributors may include contractors, vendors, or customers, for example. After joining the project, the Project Contributor can collaborate fully on that project, creating, uploading, and commenting on items. A Project Contributor can only access the projects to which the person was invited.

Project types

If you are using the free version of A360, your project is Secret by default, requiring you to invite people by email addresses; the project type cannot be changed. If you are using the paid version, A360 Team, you can choose between three project types, Open, Closed, or Secret; the project type can be changed. You can see the project type on both the project card and on the project Profile page.

  • Open : A360 Team only. Use for projects where the intent is to share information broadly to everyone. All Open project information is searchable and accessible to all members of the organization. Anyone in the organization can join and leave an Open project at any time. People outside the organization are not allowed to be invited to Open projects.
  • Closed : A360 Team only. Use for projects that require some privacy. Anyone in the organization can see the Closed project name in search results, as well as the Closed project Profile and People pages. All items in the Closed project shared with the entire hub (Hub All) are also visible. Only members of the Closed project can search for and access the project page, activities, and content. The Closed project's moderator must approve membership requests. An organization's hub settings determine if people outside the organization can be invited to join Closed projects.
  • Secret : Use for personal projects or projects that require extra privacy. Secret projects are hidden from people who weren't invited to the project. Only existing project members of a Secret project can search for and access the project page, activities, and content. Team Administrators can't view content inside Secret projects. Membership to a Secret project is by invitation only. If you are using the paid version, A360 Team, the hub settings determine if people outside the organization can be invited to join Secret projects.